Paleo Mini Rolls

paleo mini rolls || theshipsisle
One of the most difficult parts of switching to a Paleo lifestyle is the parting with breads. For me, it was a very rough breakup; I love toast, sandwiches, muffins, etc as much as the next person (possibly even more so). And because of my obsession (read: addiction), I scoured the internet for grain-free bread recipes only to be faced with literally hundreds of hits and not sure where to begin. Though I was relieved there there were alternatives out there, I was not expecting to have so many to choose from. How was I supposed to separate the worthwhile, delicious recipes from the lackluster duds?

First off, I want something that I can actually accomplish; I don’t claim to be Martha Stewart, Julia Child, or even Rachael Ray. I have about as much patience as an 8-year-old, and even less if I’m hungry. The fewer amount of ingredients, equipment, and time required for me to make something delicious and unceremoniously enter it into my face, the happier everyone will be.

Enter: these rolls.

Not only did they satisfy everything on my aforementioned list, but I also succeeded on my first attempt. I’m not sure about everyone else, but if a recipe doesn’t pan out on my first try, I am 99% sure I will never try it again (Note: my youthful patience). I don’t want to put out there that I’m a bad cook (or baker), because I’m not. Anyone can take a pound of butter and cup of sugar and make something taste pretty great, but that’s not for me. I want to make something that not only tastes good, but is also good for me and coincides with my lifestyle goals. These little guys fit the bill on all counts, plus they’re so dang cute.
paleo rolls ingredients || theshipsisle
Ingredients
1 cup tapioca flour/starch
1/2 cup olive oil
1/2 cup coconut flour
1/2 cup warm water
1 large egg, whisked
1 tablespoon sea salt
(Optional: spices like oregano or an italian blend; garlic salt in place of sea salt)

paleo mini rolls || theshipsisle

Method
1) Preheat oven to 350* F
2) With a fork, mix the tapioca flour with salt and coconut flour until blended
3) Add oil and warm water to the mixture and stir; add in the whisked egg and combine
4) The mixture should be relatively sticky, but not so much that you are unable to roll into one-inch balls with your hands. Slowly add any extra needed coconut flour if you find your mixture too wet
5) Lay the balls on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper
6) Bake for ~35 minutes

They are best served warm and pop easily in half.
One batch yields around 10 mini rolls.
paleo mini rolls || theshipsisle
[Not pictured: the first batch with thyme leaves on top, and the few of this second batch which I ate…]

Sweet
: smeared with butter, honey, or jam/preserves.
Savory: used as mini meatball sandwich, dipped into mashed potatoes & gravy, or smeared with garlic butter.

Original recipe found here from the folks at Paleo Spirit.

Leave a Reply

