Paleo Sliders

Paleo Sliders
The saying goes: “If life gives you lemons, make lemonade.” My new moniker, however, would be: “when you buy too little meat, make paleo sliders.”

Last week, after not buying enough ground beef to make the recipe I had originally intended, I had to get creative. The result were these Paleo Sliders. They are bite-sized morsels of heaven that made me even more excited than I usually am for my next meal time.

I wrote a recipe post several months ago about some delicious paleo rolls which are super easy to make and had found from the Paleo Spirit website. While the little guys were baking in the oven, I began making my grass-fed meat patties.

1lb grass-fed, organic ground beef
1-2 cloves fresh pressed organic garlic
1/3-1/2 cup mashed sweet potato
1 cage-free, grass-fed, organic egg
Sea salt
Oregano
Sprinkle of cayenne
Pepper (optional)

With my hands, I combined the ingredients and rolled out ten small patties. Next time I would do a better job of flattening out the middle so they are less like meatballs and lay flatter between the rolls, but I think the results were still just as tasty this way.

I laid out the patties on a medium to medium-high skillet that had been very lightly coated with extra virgin olive oil. I let them sit several minutes before flipping once, and then a final time about five minutes later after lowering the heat and covering with the glass lid. Throughout the process, I kept my eye on them just to be sure they didn’t get too dark. Cook to your desired done-ness. You could also bake them in the oven instead of cooking on the stovetop.

Earlier that day I had also cooked some zucchini and grape tomatoes. I topped them on the burgers as a fun alternative to pickles and ketchup (though if I’d had any pickles on hand, you better believe they would’ve been piled on).

Other additions to these sliders could be paleo slaw (shredded veggies tossed with apple cider vinegar), some fried egg, or pickled onions. And for those who aren’t interested in the whole paleo thing, of course barbecue, tartar, or tzatziki sauces would be incredible on here as well.

Leave a Reply

