Hiatus

It’s been quite some time since my last post, but for good reason. There have been many positive changes that have taken place during the past few months, and most have been building up since earlier this year and are finally falling into place. It’s been both exciting and fulfilling.

First is my editorial internship with the Borgen Project. It is a non-profit organization that works directly with political leaders to bring more attention to global poverty in legislation. In this internship I read and write articles that focus on exposing international poverty issues as well as the countless groups, partnerships, and initiatives that work to end them. It’s been a humbling and learning experience to hear about all of the hardships occurring across the globe, but it has also been heartening and inspiring to see what is being done about it.

In addition to writing about global issues, I’ve been ghostwriting for a Seattle-based fitness app. This is something I am so incredibly passionate about; it has been wonderfully challenging and has made it even more apparent that this is exactly what I want to do.

And finally… my trip.

I just returned from a trip to Spain and France. I saved up for years to take this trip, fretted over the planning that spanned months and months, had an unimaginable time… and now it’s all over. The residue of the trip is still on me: my pack is still on the floor, contents emptied, like a deflated balloon; flashbacks of calles, sites, and moments pop into my head at any moment; and I keep thinking “the last time fill-in-the-blank happened, I was there.”

There. Away. Gone. Abroad.

And I can’t shake it. I don’t want it to go away. I want the dust of my trip to stay on me, to freckle my skin and be a part of me. The next several entries will be solely about the places where I was.

I can’t wait to relive it all through words and photos; if I’m unable to turn around and return, I suppose this is the next best thing.

Leave a Reply

